Chakra Healing Basics 101

chakra healing, certified energy healing, reiki healing

Chakra healing is part of the energy healing conversation

Chakra healing begins with understanding that they are your energy centers. They are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of your aura. Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of your self-consciousness. They are associated with your physical, mental and emotional interactions.


There are seven major chakras. While the aura, referred to and considered the eighth chakra.  When your chakras are balanced, you are balanced in your nature and behaviors.


Body based Chakra healing

Rooted in the physical realm, the lower three Chakras focus on the body. They are about the physical realm and your connection to it.


1st Chakra (Base or Root Chakra)

The color for the root Chakras is red and it is located at the base of the spine.

When your  root Chakra is open, you feel healthy and connected with your physical body. Root Chakra grounds your essence into your physical body.


2nd Chakra (Spleen or Sexual Chakra)

The color for this Chakra is orange and it is located in the sexual organs — ovaries in women and testes in men.

This Chakra is connected to procreation, creativity and bringing in new life.


3rd Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)

The color for this Chakra is yellow and it is located near the stomach.

This Chakra gives you strength and provides the ability to hold energy for personal power and emotional control.


The Chakra for all things

The heart Chakra  is your connection to all things. Heart centering is a big conversation in energy healing and your heart Chakra is the bridge to all and the bridge from the physical realm to the emotional and spiritual realm.


4th Chakra (Heart Chakra)

The color for this Chakra is green or pink and it is located near the heart.

The heart Chakra is most important in all facets of love; when balanced, you trust in others, take risks, love and feel loved.


Spirit based Chakra healing

The top three Chakras focus their attention on the emotional, spiritual and intellectual experiences you have in this human form.


5th Chakra (Throat Chakra)

The color for this Chakra is blue and it is located near the thyroid gland.

When balanced, this Chakra allows you to speak the truth and to express your true feelings with love.


6th Chakra (Third Eye Chakra)

The color for the sixth Chakra is indigo; the third eye Chakra is in the center of the forehead.

When this Chakras is open, you experience spiritual wisdom and enlightenment.


7th Chakra (Crown or Christ Consciousness Chakra)

The color for this Chakra is a mixture of silver, gold and white and violet, or it is seen as an open lotus blossom. The crown Chakra, located at the top of the head.

And when this Chakra is open, you connect with the Divine nature within you and everything and everyone.


How would you like to clear your chakras on your own – anytime you want to – try my Chakra Clearing and Reiki Healing 27 minute meditation (you’ll love it!)

Your turn… Share which Chakra feels most balanced to you.


  1. Lori Gosselin on November 16, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Thanks for this concise summary of the major chakras Kimberly!

  2. Ms. Sage on February 24, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    I love doing chakra work. This is a great way to explain the basics of chakras! 🙂 Love it!